Sunday, April 27, 2008

This article is part of the series:Alliance for Sweden Politics and government of Sweden
Alliance for Sweden (Swedish: Allians för Sverige) is a political alliance in Sweden. It consists of the four centre-right parties in the Riksdag. Although it was formed while in opposition, it achieved a majority in the general election of 17 September 2006, forming the current coalition government.

King: Carl XVI Gustaf

  • Speaker: Per Westerberg

    • Prime Minister: Fredrik Reinfeldt

      • Cabinet

        • Agencies
          Supreme Court

          • Governors
            Administrative Boards
            Sami Parliament
            Elections: 2002 - 2006 - 2010
            Political parties
            Foreign relations
            EU Politics Membership of the Alliance
            Swedish politics has been dominated by the Social Democratic Party for over 70 years. They have been in government for all but nine years (summer of 1936, 1976-1982, 1991-1994) since 1932. The opposition parties decided that this was partly because they did not present a clear and viable alternative government. At a meeting held in the Centre Party leader Maud Olofsson's home in the village of Högfors, the four party leaders decided to form an alliance. The meeting ended on 31 August 2004 with the presentation of a joint declaration outlining the principles under which the four parties intended to fight the election [1]. A year later a similar meeting was held at Christian Democrat leader Göran Hägglund's home in Bankeryd, resulting in the affirmation of the alliance and another declaration [2].

            The Alliance in government

            Sweden general election, 2006
            Government of Sweden
            Cabinet of Fredrik Reinfeldt

No comments: